The Partnership for
Higher Education in Africa
Home
SECURING THE LINCHPIN
ICT FOR TEACHING, LEARNING, AND RESEARCH


APPENDIX ONE

CONFERENCE PARTICIPANTS

Addis Ababa University
Ahmed Hussien
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Addis Ababa University
PO Box 33465
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
251-1-564888 (telephone)
251-9-225241 (cell)
251-1-560185 (fax)
hilcoe@telecom.net.et

Association of African Universities
http://www.aau.org
Yawo Assigbley
Head, Information and Communication, AAU
PO Box AN5744
Accra, Ghana
233-21-774495/761588 (telephone)
233-21-774821 (fax)
yassig@aau.org

Bayero University
Ado Dan-Isa
Department of Electrical Engineering
Bayero University
PMB 3011
Kano, Nigeria
234-64-666021 and 668834 (telephone)
234-64-665904 (fax)
danisa@tec.buk.edu.ng, ado_danisa@yahoo.com or buknunet@yahoo.com

Eduardo Mondlane University
http://www.uem.mz/
Venancio Massingue, Vice Rector
Eduardo Mondlane University CP 257
Maputo, Mozambique
258-82-300271 (cell phone)
258-1-307272 (fax)
carlotta@nambu.uem.mz

Francisco Mabila, Deputy Director, Informatics Centre
Eduardo Mondlane University CP 257
Maputo, Mozambique
2581-492601 and 494752/4 (telephone)
258-82-305596 (mobile)
mabila@nambu.uem.mz and mabila@uem.mz

International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications
http://www.inasp.info
Martin Belcher
INASP Training Programme Manager
8-10 Berkeley Square
Bristol, UK
44-117-928-7084 (telephone)
44-117-928-7112 (fax)
mbelcher@inasp.info

Inter-University Council of East Africa
http://www.iucea.org
Phillip Ouma Ayoo
IUCEA
PO Box 7110
Kampala, Uganda
256-41-256251/2 (telephone)
256-41-342007 (fax)
payoo123@hotmail.com

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
http://www.knust.edu.gh/
Professor Keshaw Singh, Director
Kumasi Virtual Centre for Information Technology
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Kumasi, Ghana
233-51-60013 (telephone)
233-51-60023 (fax)
kevas@hotmail.com or ksingh@avu.org

Makarere University
http://www.makerere.ac.ug
http://www.makerere.ac.ug/dicts
Phillip Kasaija
Department of Political Science
Makerere University
Kampala, Uganda
256-77-409-724 (telephone)
256-41-534-181 (fax)
kasaijap@yahoo.com

F.F. Tusubira, Director
Directorate for ICT Support
Flat B5 Lincoln Flats
Makerere University Main Campus
256-41-541343 (telephone)
256-41-542377 (fax)
tusu@dicts.mak.ac.ug

Ministry of Education (Ethiopia)
Andrew Schofield,
IT Advisor to Higher Education
Ministry of Education
Arat Kilo, PO Box 1367
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
251-1-568973; 553133 x 305 (telephone)
ITAdvisorMoE@yahoo.com and Andy_VSO@softhome.net

National Research Foundation (South Africa)
http://www.nrf.ac.za/
http://www2.frd.ac.za/uninet/history
Mike Lawrie
Consultant, Academic Support Network
National Research Foundation
PO Box 2600
Pretoria 0001
South Africa
27-12-481-4148 (telephone)
27-12-349-1179 (fax)
mlawrie@apies.nrf.ac.za

National Universities Commission (Nigeria)
Mamman Ibrahim Aminu14
Deputy Director
Networking and Communications Division,
Department of ICT
Abuja, Nigeria
234-9-413-541 (telephone)
234-9-4133520 (fax)
ibrahim@nuc.edu.ng and aminu@widernet.org

Obafemi Awolowo University
http://www.oauife.edu.ng
Lawrence Olakunle Kehinde
Information and Technology Communications Unit
Obafemi Awolowo University
Ile-Ife, Nigeria
234-36-232 356 (telephone)
234-36-230 663 (fax)
lkehinde@oauife.edu.ng and lokehinde@yahoo.com

Tufts University
http://www.tufts.edu
Steve Cohen
Senior Learning Technologist
Tufts University
16 Dearborn
Medford, Ma. 02155, USA
1-617-627-3082 (telephone)
1-617-627-3667 (fax)
steve.cohen@tufts.edu

Pearl Robinson, Director, Curriculum Co-Development Project, Tufts University and
Visiting Professor, University of Dar es Salaam
PO Box 35042
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255-22-2410130 (telephone)
255-22-2410084 or 255-22-2410395 (fax)
pearl.robinson@tufts.edu

UN Economic Commission for Africa
PO Box 3001
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
http://www.uneca.org
K.Y. Amoako, Executive Secretary
251-1-51-72-00 and 51-12-31 (telephone)
241-1-514416 (fax)

Karima Bounemra Ben Soltane, Chief
Development Information Services Division
251-1-51-08-14 (telephone)
251-1-51-05-12 (fax)
kbounemra@uneca.org

Aida Opoku-Mensah, Team Leader, Promoting Information Technology for Development
Development Information Services Division
251-1-511167 (telephone)
251-1-510512 (fax)
aopoku-mensah@uneca.org

Lishan Adam, Regional Advisor
Development Information Services Division
251 1 51 11 67 (telephone)
251 1 51 05 12 (fax)
ladam@uneca.org

Afework Temtime
Network Development Officer
Development Information Services Division
251 1 51 11 67 (telephone)
251 1 51 05 12 (fax)
atemtime@uneca.org

University of Dar es Salaam
http://www.udsm.ac.tz
http://www.udsm.ac.tz/library/index.htm
Tolly Mbwette, Professor of Environmental Engineering
Prospective College of Engineering and Technology
Faculty of Civil Engineering and the Built Environment
University of Dar es Salaam
PO Box 35131
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255-22-2410365 (telephone)
mbwette@wrep.udsm.ac.tz and tsmbwette@yahoo.com

Beda Mutagahywa, Director
University Computing Centre
University of Dar es Salaam
PO Box 35062
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255-22-2410645 (telephone)
255-22-2410690
bmutag@udsm.ac.tz

Julita Nawe
Director, University of Dar es Salaam Library Services
PO Box 35092
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255-022-241041 (telephone)
255-022-2410241 (fax)
nawe@libis.udsm.ac.tz and jnawe2001@yahoo.com

Mohabe Nyirabu, Senior Lecturer
Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Dar es Salaam
PO Box 35042
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
255-22-2410357 (telephone)
255-22-2410084 (fax)
Mohabenyirabu@hotmail.com

University of Ghana
http://www.ug.edu.gh
Mumuni Dakubu
Director
University ICT Centre
University of Ghana
Chemistry Department
Accra, Ghana
233-021-508099/502262 (telephone)
233-021-502262 (fax)
mdakubu@ug.edu.gh

University of Jos
Stephen Akintunde
Deputy University Librarian (Systems)
University of Jos
PMB 2084
Jos, Plateau State
Nigeria
S_askintunde@hotmail.com and akins@unijos.edu.ng

Len Liverpool
234-73-611839 and 611918 (telephone)
liverpoo@unijos.edu.ng and lsoliverpool@yahoo.com

University of Namibia
http://www.unam.na
Peter Bateman
Coordinator, Interactive Multimedia Services
University of Namibia
Private Bag 13301
Windhoek, Namibia
264-61-206 3916 (telephone)
264 61 206 3361 (fax)
pbateman@unam.na

Charmaine Villet
cvillet@unam.na

University of Stellenbosch
http://www.sun.ac.za/distanceeducation
Tobie de Coning
Head, Division of Distance Education
University of Stellenbosch
Private Bag x1
Stellenbosch, South Africa
27-21-8083563 (telephone)
27-21-8083565 (fax)
tjdc@sun.ac.za

University of the Western Cape
http://www.uwc.ac.za
http://www.uwc.ac.za/library/
Derek Keats
Executive Director, Information and Communication Services
University of the Western Cape
Bag X17
Bellville 7535, South Africa
27-21-959 2304 (telephone)
27-21-959 2775 (fax)
dkeats@uwc.ac.za

Ellen Tise
University Librarian
University of the Western Cape
27-21-959 2947 (telephone)
27-21-959 1348 (fax)
etise@uwc.ac.za

Partnership for Higher Education in Africa

Carnegie Corporation of New York
http://www.carnegie.org

437 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022
1-212-371-3200 (telephone)
1-212-223-9822 (fax)

Rookaya Bawa
rba@carnegie.org

Gloria Primm Brown, Consultant

Andrea Johnson
aj@carnegie.org

Narciso Matos
nma@carnegie.org

Connie Solomon
cs@carnegie.org

Ford Foundation
http://www.fordfound.org

Ahmed Bawa
Southern Africa Office
P.O. Box 30953
Braamfontein 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
27-11-403-5912 (telephone)
27-11-403-1575 (fax)
a.bawa@fordfound.org

Eastern Africa Office
PO Box 41081
Nairobi, Kenya
254-2-271-0444 (telephone)
254-2-271-2203 (fax)

Anne-Marie Griffin
a.griffin@fordfound.org

Mary Ngolovoi
m.ngolovoi@fordfound.org

Katharine Pearson
k.pearson@fordfound.org

MacArthur Foundation
http://www.macfound.org
Kole Shettima
Nigeria Office
2 Ontario Ccrescent
Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria
234-9-413-2920, 413-2965 (telephone)
234-9-413-2919 (fax)
kshettima.macarthur@skannet.com

Rockefeller Foundation
http://www.rockfound.org
420 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10018, USA
1-212-869-8500 (telephone)
1-212-852-8278 (fax)

An R. Trotter
atrotter.rockfound.org

Partnership Facilitator
http://www.foundation-partnership.org
Lisbeth Levey
New York University
239 Greene Street, Room 317
New York, New York 10003, USA
1-212-998-5514 (telephone)
1-212-995-4041 (fax)
lal9@nyu.edu

Conference Rapporteur
Ruth Thomas, Consultant, Nairobi, Kenya
ruthannathomas@yahoo.com

 


© 2003 Carnegie Corporation of New York, The Ford Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, and the Rockefeller Foundation.

Privacy Policy and Terms of Use